American Idiot

My name is Yasir and I’m freaking out.

Today, at FVHS, MY school, OUR school. A student was told to die because they were gay. Students are telling each other to prepare for deportation.

Fountain Valley High School, a place I know and love, a place I strive to make better, a place that inspires me,  Fountain Valley High School, my HOME, has succumbed to hate speech.

WHAT THE HELL?

What’s happening? Where am I? What is this? Is this what humans have evolved into? Mindless crap regurgitating zombies? Are we really all this hateful inside? Is this the work of one man, our president-elect, or has he simply pulled the trigger on a bullet waiting for a reason to be shot?

I will absolutely not accept any hate speech being spewed at FVHS. Look, I’m no saint. I say a lot of things. I say a lot of mean things too. I say a lot of things I shouldn’t say. But never have I ever wished the death or disappearance of a fellow Baron, American, or even any person for that matter. I’m not perfect, but all I want is FVHS to be a haven from all the sick, evil things happening nationwide. FVHS is SO MUCH MORE THAN THAT.

Screw the presidential election. Screw Hillary Clinton. Screw Donald Trump. None of that should affect the Barons we should be or the Barons we are.

All this negative, dividing rhetoric going around? If we allow it to circle us, we WILL be swallowed whole.

I will NOT  let that happen here. I will not. I will NOT.

Not only am I attacking the very idea of hate speech, allow me to encourage the spread of love. Love each other. For my sake. For your sake. For each others’ sake. Regardless of your affiliation or identification to anything: Gay, straight, liberal, conservative, black, asian, white, arab, republican, democrat, blah blah blah, never forget we’re human for God sake.

29963814750_5573d7927b_o

Donald Trump has been elected President of the United States. That’s your reality. Being hateful won’t get rid of him. Perhaps unintentionally, his election as president has allowed bigots and idiots (on both sides) to express themselves, in hideous, disgusting ways. I refuse to link to these stories, because they’re surreal and terrifying. I just can’t believe someone at our own school said something on that level. I really don’t get offended, ever really, but this has completely shocked me.

The vitriol of this gross election that just passed us should stay in the past. It has no place in any American happenings going forward. It certainly has no place in my home, Fountain Valley High School.

Above all, at the end of the day, we’re people. Please act like it.

Please.

One thought on “American Idiot

Leave a Reply

